I've been coding since 1966 and have seen a number of languages come and go and also held up as "THE" language.
When Microsoft came out with Visual Basic 3/4/5/6 (Classic NOT Net), and with VBA as part of their office suite, I jumped on it and never looked back as it could not only develop rapidly, get the power I needed with API calls, and had the ability to maintain a program years later with little effort without fightly with a language syntax that was obsure especially if I had not used it for a bit.

Microsoft forced the move to NET by deprecating both VB Classic and VC++. I think little of NET as it bloated big time IMO.

SO to finish out my last years, I'm looking for a language where I can port over about 20 VB Classic programs without to much
headache, maintain them, and have the language stick around for maybe another 20 years. Based on my reading, even C++ may not be around.

I know everyone has their favorite, but any constructive suggestions would be appreciated.

David

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Nobody can say with any certainty what languages will still be around in 20 years. Even 5 years is difficult with some. If you want to port old VB programs with as little difficulty as possible I suggest just going to vb.net. I think you'll find porting vb to C++ will be much more difficult. A few years back (closer to 20) I had to port a very large and complex program from vb to FORTRAN, and then later on to C. It required a complete rewrite both times and neither experience was pleasant. The positive aspect, however, was that a complete rewrite allowed me to make great improvements in the design.

.NET isn't bloated, get used to it.

If you want something that's going to be around in 20 years, go with PL/1 or Cobol. C too has a good chance of surviving that long.