Hi, Y'all. My name's not Ned Frankly. It's Jay. Ned's a nom-de-web that I've used for about 10 years now, and he shows no signs of giving up :) .

So... I'm in my mid forties, I've been a programmer in one language or another since I was 15 (yup, in the 70's). I'm currently a Sr. Software Engineer, working primarily in VB.net and C#.net with a little 'whatever is needed' thrown in.

It's not enough to be a one-language-pony anymore - we have to be flexible and tolerant. No language is better than another when taken out of context. Tell me the job you want done, I'll tell you the language I'd use.

Nice forum, and I enjoy helping new programmers work through the complexities of .net. If you're new to .net, keep one thing in mind - it's probably NOT as difficult as you think it is.

Thanks for having me!

(Oh, and I really am ordained. Ned just uses the title Rev. more often than I do).

Jay aka Ned Frankly

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Hi, Y'all. My name's not Ned Frankly. It's Jay. Ned's a nom-de-web that I've used for about 10 years now, and he shows no signs of giving up :) .

So... I'm in my mid forties, I've been a programmer in one language or another since I was 15 (yup, in the 70's). I'm currently a Sr. Software Engineer, working primarily in VB.net and C#.net with a little 'whatever is needed' thrown in.

It's not enough to be a one-language-pony anymore - we have to be flexible and tolerant. No language is better than another when taken out of context. Tell me the job you want done, I'll tell you the language I'd use.

Nice forum, and I enjoy helping new programmers work through the complexities of .net. If you're new to .net, keep one thing in mind - it's probably NOT as difficult as you think it is.

Thanks for having me!

(Oh, and I really am ordained. Ned just uses the title Rev. more often than I do).

Jay aka Ned Frankly