You can tell a lot about a person from their keyboard and mouse choices. What's your favorite keyboard and mouse? Why do you like it? What kind of work do you do?

My favorite mouse is the Logitech G5. Aside from having a comfortable grip and gaming quality stats, I love being able to change the sensitivity and weight. My old mouse was a Microsoft wireless dealie, and I stuck with it for the longest time because it felt so good. The G5 is much better though. :)

My favorite keyboard is this little beauty. The Logitech G11 gaming keyboard. It's designed for gamers, but as a programmer, I fell in love with it immediately. I prefer to work in the dark (especially at work where fluorescent lighting gives me a headache) and the blue lighting is great. :) I like the music controls, but that's pretty standard on higher end keyboards anyway. The best part is the macro keys. I've come to rely on them for everything from loading applications to handling common code operations. Of course, I also find typing to be incredibly comfortable with this keyboard. That's a first for me; I used to just suffer with the awkwardness of whatever keyboard I was using.

Recommended Answers

All 60 Replies

I can't really say "favorite" because all the keyboards I've ever worked on were pretty crappy.

At the moment I'm using a Logitech mouse (I can't remember which model; it's just a basic optical mouse with a scroll wheel), and an old Apple keyboard from the PowerMac G4 days. :) I find my mouse to be decent, although it would be nice if it had more features (in other words, I need to cough up the money to get a good mouse). The Apple keyboard is OK, except that I find the keys a little bit too mushy for my liking.

I agree with your choices! Logitech is probably one of the best brands to buy keyboards/mice, and I've read really good reviews about their peripherals. I especially like that glow-keyboard.