Short Version: from the list below, please pick the top 2-3 pieces of software I should learn (in order), and 1-2 programming languages (at most 1 major/hard one) I should learn (in order) to be more marketable in the IT field.

Long Version: Hello all. I am new to the forums, and hope I found the appropriate place to post. Seems like this site will become my new hangout for all things technical.

I'm seeking some very basic pre-career-change advice from those in the IT/software industry; specifically I need to know where to start in teaching myself a *small* handful of useful software suites and/or languages. I'm not seeking to become a marketable expert just yet, but I want to be a cut above the rest at entry level application time. First some quick background:

I'm currently a graduate student in the sciences. I design and carry out projects, lead a team of undergraduate research assistants, deal fairly extensively with data, and use computers all the time. I'd consider myself tech-competent but not savvy or up-to-date. I took a year+ of computer science (little C, C++) as an undergrad before changing majors -- most of it completely forgotten, but likely I'll have an easier learning curve than someone completely new.

Anyway, I decided to drop out of the PhD track and stop after getting my masters. Grad school is too low-paying for too long, and I'm getting niched into a career I wouldn't be happy with. IT is a more natural fit for me.

Anyway, to the point: I want to prep in my non-copious spare time to be able to maximize job opportunities post-masters, likely moving to a biggish city like Portland or Seattle. I will list below some of the programs I have legitimate access to (I'd rather not pirate if I can help it, and can't afford brand new major MS-type software). I need to know which should few be highest priority to install and learn, along with one or two languages that should be highest priority to learn. I have access to: