I'm pretty new to web development. Being a tech, I have found the whole scripting and SQL side natural to pick up. However, the markup does my nut. Why do you hear so much noise on forums about having to adhere to standards. I remembered someone saying to me 'Dude, table based layouts make baby Jesus cry'. (This was during a work placement - I go to York doing CompSci) He offered to recode the whole thing in the correct standard for me. I said, 'If your manager will sign off the work package, be my guest!' He never got back to me on that one. So I investigated what was wrong with table tags and it seems everyone is using divs these days. More specifically display:table styled div. However, IE doesn't support these and you need to float them to get them to align next to one another in a row. However, this doesn't work in Firefox because Firefox say floats have no height and the conatining table div doesn't stretch. You can use an if IE conditional statement to swap a stylesheet, but this in itself isn't standard. WTF! As I said I'm new to this, if there's a way round this, I'd love to hear it.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

tables are an anachronism in html.
They're layout elements in a language that's moving away from layout to content, with the layout being provided by CSS styles.
They've also been heavily abused over the ages by people who didn't know what the heck they were doing but called themselves web designers because they could click something together in Frontpage or Dreamweaver that looks nice when presented on its own to a marketing manager.
As a result many people who actually have to maintain websites look to any use of tables with distrust, any use by inexperienced people who've not proven they know how to properly use them with extreme suspicion.

The guy made the correct decision to not hire you if you call yourself a web designer/developer yet aren't able to use current technology to do the job.