Ok, I'm sorry if this sounds dumb. I'm a newbie. :o

I have a couple questions. First, I am just about to start a online community. I am very money-tied though, so I can't do to much. I'm going to have to go with the free boards. I was thinking about buying a domain, getting hosting from a company, and installing a free PhpBB board. My friend said he thinks that EZBoards hosts it for you. (If you have a domain) If you get their "Gold Community" package or whatever. Do they host it for you, or are you paying simply for the forum?

Also, for PhpBB, is there anyway I may advertise on that? Or maybe have like a "donation" button? :sad:

PLEASE HELP!! :cry:

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

well for one, not many people will donate. You need to make a friend with web space!, i might be able to help you please PM me with firther details on what this is all about.

Once you have a successful community, you can put up a donate button with something along the lines of: "If you enjoyed your stay here, please help us out with a donation." However, no one is going to donate to a new site that doesn't (yet) have much to offer, unfortunately. People like to feel like they are getting something for their money. If it is a successful site, they are getting the peace of mind and the satisfaction of helping out an informative, helpful, enjoyable site. But whatever it is, they feel like they are getting something for their money. It doesn't necessarily have to be something tangible, but it has to be something.

Dont go for any of that, a domain will just cost you 9 dollars and you can easily get quality hosting for as low as 3 dollars a month that would have say 200+ mb disk space with around 5-10 gb bandwidth that should be more than enough for you to kick start your community. Get a free forum software package like phpbb or if you want to venture further XMB and simplemachines.org are also very good, infact I am starting to rate them higher than phpbb.