and potentially a new source of income, for a bum. Just as many IT workers, I was let go in 2002, and since then have not been able to secure a full time job. My background is more on the lower bowels of the Inet (infrastructure, comm & security) of 20+ years, but have enough programming experience to be dangerous.

I have been following search engine optimization way before it became even a niche industry. I followed to rise of the spam "industry", the deployment of business on the web, and watched multi billion dollar investment backed web sites disappear, while shoe-string operations rake in 2 to 3 thousand percent profit margins.

I believe I have found a niche that has not been filled and can make a small business on it.

To deploy I have jotted down my thoughts on what I will need to do.

The concept is as follows -

1. Select the appropriate technology. The forum software, and portal piece. It has to be flexible, and cannot lock the site into itself.
  2. deploy an online community with a unique interest to attract eyeballs
  3. make sure that the unique interest has sufficient user base, (for example
  4. buggy whips are really cool but there are too few people interested)
  5. Do not initially, or ever charge for visitors
  6. Generate sufficient amount of content to start discussions
  7. Get news (RSS, XML, etc.) feeds to trigger new discussions
  8. Make sure advertisements are managed appropriate throughout the site, and are unobtrusive
  9. Usability is a key element
  10. Find the right key phrases, and get site listed on appropriate systems
  11. Once eyeball momentum is sufficient, enlist members to be moderators
  12. Reward moderators
  13. Reward frequent posters

Right now I am at 1.
Here are so far my selections:

Discussion software: phpBB. I have tried various other ones and phpBB seems to be the most user friendly from the visitors' perspective, and most flexible.