I am new to css and am having problems with setting a single object(say a table) from a set percentage from the top of the page as well as the main background.

body {
	background-image:url(mainbg.jpg);
	background-repeat:repeat-x;
	background-position: 0% 30%;
	background-attachment:fixed;
	background-color: #FFFFFF;
	margin-left: 0px;
	margin-top: 0px;
	margin-right: 0px;
	margin-bottom: 0px;
}

table {
        position: absolute; // tried different combinations here
        top: 30%;
}

What should I be using for the table(or div)? Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Can I see your HTML? The percentage is based on the object's parent.
If you set the body's background position as being 30% from the top, it will be 30% of the visible document. (You probably know this I just like the sound of my keyboard.)
Anyway despite me forgetting what I was trying to say you should set your table's width and height using CSS if you want to use CSS positioning. In fact set everything's width and height with CSS and you should have less problems in general.

I am new to css and am having problems with setting a single object(say a table) from a set percentage from the top of the page as well as the main background.

What should I be using for the table(or div)? Thanks

What you are asking is practically impossible. You are wasting your time trying.

The one thing that the web page can not know in a way that works on all browsers is the height of the browser pane. The Internet is not designed to work that way. Height refers to the height of the document, not the pane.

The basic design of the Internet is a long scroll of paper that is the length of your document. Rendering starts at the top, and expands downward until everything is rendered. You can NOT think of the browser pane as a sheet of paper that you can arrange however you want it.