Hi all,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to Flash programming. I am basically a server-side programmer with more than enough knowledge of client-side technologies. However, Flash is something I am keen on learning.

I was looking for info on the following about Flash:
1. What kind of software I would require for Flash programming. (I want to be able to use it with ColdFusion/HTML/JavaScript.)
2. How much it costs and where I could find it?
3. Are there any compatibility issues if users use IE6.0/FireFox2.0?
4. A good/recommended book+website to learn the language.

I test my code locally but the server that my websites reside on is hosted by an outside organization. Is there anything I need to check with them so the Flash aspect works as expected?

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I was looking for info on the following about Flash:
1. What kind of software I would require for Flash programming. (I want to be able to use it with ColdFusion/HTML/JavaScript.)
2. How much it costs and where I could find it?
3. Are there any compatibility issues if users use IE6.0/FireFox2.0?
4. A good/recommended book+website to learn the language.

Okay here's my attempt to answer your question, I to am a server-side web developer that has dabbled with flash.

1. Well the best thing to do would be get the trial version of Flash CS4 to start, u can try it for 30 days I think, then you can decide whether u want to buy it or not. There are other tools out there to create flash animation, but if you want to do custom Actionscript get Flash CS4!

2. Goes for $699USD. I remember it being over $750 CAD. Goto the source: Adobe - http://www.adobe.com/products/flash/

3. Luckily the latest flash players for each of those browsers seems to work A-OK with .swf files I've created using flash cs4, so no issues that I know of. Just have to make sure ur visitors use the latest flash player.