Hi,
I am new to linux and was wondering if there is any application which I can download or purchase which will help me edit flash projects in linux.

Cheers,
Vishal Khialani

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Member Avatar for GreenDay2001

I dunno if there is any linux application to edit FLA files. But you may try using Wine Project to use Windows version of Flash.

Salasaga and Ming

Both in early stages, so might take a little trial and error.

I'm not aware of any linux software that deals with flash, certainly nothing that will open .fla's. There are some attempts to make a linux port of Flashdevelop (a free Windows/.NET based IDE for the Flex 3 SDK), but I don't think they've got very far with it yet.

As Vishesh has already said, you could try using Wine to run one of the flash IDE's. Flash mx2004 will probably work well under wine, flash 8 might also work, but I have serious doubts that CS3 or CS4 will work properly.
The windows version of Flashdevelop might also run under wine.

Another usually overlooked alternative is the Adobe Flex3 SDK, which can be used to create flash content in Linux using pure AS3 or AS3 and mxml.

The flex3 SDK ships with some multi-platform command line tools, the bin folder of the SDK contains binaries for windows, mac and linux. To get it, all you need to do is download it from Adobe and unzip it somewhere on your system. And that's it, you're ready to start developing flash in Linux!

The only pre-requisites are that you need to have java installed on your Linux system...But that's not really a stretch, if your machine doesn't have Java, open up your package manager and download and install it from your linux distros repository.

To use the SDK in linux, you simply use a text editor like gEdit, vi or emacs to create your mxml and/or actionscript 3 files and then use the 'mxmlc' command-line tool in the bin folder of the SDK to compile your .swfs.

Here's an example of compiling a .swf in Linux:
Picture this if you will....