Hi all,

I'm a java web developer (back end mainly) and write my html by hand but this is slow and doesnt compare to the fancy professionally looking sites that dominate the web.

So, my question is what are people using to develop visually appealing websites ?

Thanks for any feedback.

Jason.

Mia_375 commented: There are many different tools that can help you develop a website. I’ve put them into 4 broad categories: Software, Hosting, Web Services, Writing Se +0

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

For basic websites, you could use Microsoft programs like FrontPage.
I'm not a fan of this kind of developing, but you could use Adobe Dreamweaver. You could go to those websites, and look at their code.
You could use a WYSIWYG editor too.

I would agree that Dreamweaver is the best tool right now, but if you can't afford it you should try using the aviary site. they have a lot of open source online tools that you can use.

aviary.com

I know the problem - you're capable of creating everything from scratch, but it is time-consuming and being a backend guy (like myself) you're not exactly an artist or designer.

Two years ago I began converting client sites, that I had previously hand-built from scratch, to Joomla. Since then, I have converted most of my own sites as well and have never been more pleased.

Beautiful, flexible and powerful designes are as easy as a few mouse-clicks (OK, sometimes they take a bit of work, but not 10% as much as building from scratch).

I'm a php/database developer, yet I almost never have to code a custom app because so many third-party add-ons are available for almost every need you can think of - and 95% of them are FREE, as is Joomla!

Check out these Joomla sites -
www. Web-Professor. com
www. CompuSolver. com (mine)