Member Avatar for rajarajan2017

Anybody here working as a Flash E-learning professionals who knows the Standards of Flash Elearning?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hey Raja,
funnily enough I used to work in the e-learning sector a few years ago. You'll need to take a look at the SCORM, AICC and IMS standards.

As long as your e-learning content satisfies their criteria then it should be usable in virtually any SCORM or AICC compliant LMS (Learner Management System), VLE (Virtual Learning Environment) or CMS (Content Management System) (e.g. Moodle).

Most of it is to do with how you package up the e-learning modules and there are also some standard javascript interfaces that you have to implement/use to allow data to be exchanged between the LMS/VLE/CMS and your flash content. (e.g. passing user data in to the e-learning module at the start of a session and then passing users scores out to the LMS/VLE at the end).

There are a few tools that can help you to package flash stuff into SCORM/AICC compliant elearning modules, but offhand I can't remember their names...Which is typical! If anything does come flooding back I'll repost!

Anyway. most of the SCORM and AICC stuff looks like a nightmare at first, but once you settle into things, you should be OK!

On the flip-side, I've been out of the loop for a few years now, so I don't know if the industry has moved on since then, or how far it has moved on. So I'm rusty as hell with that side of things..Even remembering simple actionscript is becoming more of a chore nowadays.... What with all of the C++ and *nix development stuff I've been doing recently it feels like I've forgotten more about flash than most people ever learn. So all of the SCORM stuff has gone completely out of my mind!

Anyway, keep me posted and I'll try to help out where or 'IF' I can! heh heh!

Cheers for now,
Jas.