Hi

I'm relatively new to Actionscript coding and have a small problem in Flash.

I want to track the x property of a symbol (in this case a movie clip) and display the x property of that movie clip in a text field. However I want the text field to update the x property of the movie clip as it moves across the workspace. At the minute all the code I have does is track the starting x property and display that in the text field.

Here's my code:

var xCo = box.x; //Box is the symbol's instance name

xCo_txt.text = xCo; //xCo_txt is the text fields instance name

Thanks for any help and if any more information is required please ask and I will provide it.

Andy

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hey Andy.
You might want to try adding an event listener for the ENTER_FRAME event and set up a handler function to update the text box each time the event is detected.

The ENTER_FRAME event is an event which is dispatched by Flash's event dispatcher each time a new frame is drawn. So by adding an event listener and a handler, you can update the text box each time a new frame is drawn.

Here's a simple, yet complete example of what I mean (Note: This is done in AS3/Flex not the Flash IDE...I've not used the Flash IDE for years!):

package 
{
	import flash.display.Sprite;
	import flash.events.Event;
	import flash.text.TextField;

/**
	 * Example using Flex SDK.
	 * Creates two text fields.
	 * Uses an event listener and a handler function to update the text-boxes
	 * with the X and Y positions of the mouse cursor.
	 */
	[SWF(backgroundColor="0xffffff", width="800", height="600", frameRate="25")]
	public class UpdateText extends Sprite 
	{
		private var text1:TextField;
		private var text2:TextField;

public function UpdateText()
		{
			// Add two text fields to the stage.
			text1 = new TextField;
			addChild(text1);
			text2 = new TextField;
			text2.y = 20; // place text2 directly underneath text1
			addChild(text2);