Hi everyone. My story is simple: I am looking for ways to be a web designer.

For now, I started learning Figma and Photoshop.
Do you think that with these klowledge I can get a designer work?

Where and how does web-designers work usually? Do they only create protopype designs and that is all?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

The last web designer I worked with could and did for a project setup a Tomcat server, write the code for the backend for vehicle GPS tracking and then the reporting backend, user interfaces, Java, Javascript, HTML and quite a long list if we keep going.

Are you going to do a lot more than what you listed? Otherwise you may be what I may call a graphic artist which would not be a web designer but a skill a web site can use.

PS. In other words, add to your stack. Example: https://www.daniweb.com/programming/web-development/threads/519207/how-can-i-become-a-full-stack-web-developer-in-half-a-year

To rproffitt's point, are you interested in being a web designer or a web developer? (Although I think he may be a little incorrect in terms of the function of a web designer in 2019 / 2020).

Designers focus on the aesthetics of the website. They plan out the user experience (UX) and user interface (UI). They focus on color theory, navigation, user behavior, conversion rates, and how the overall look and feel of a website, and each of its pages, work together to create the best experience for the end-user, and most profitable experience for the website.

Graphic designers don't really exist much nowadays in terms of the web, where so much can be done with CSS and HTML5 nowadays. However, there's definitely still a huge need for graphic design for ad campaigns, magazines, and of course logos and building out the occassional infographic.