i am a web designer. i have been asked to create a web app for use on a company intranet. the problem is i have a treeview (those that dont know asp a simple menu structure) on my page which allows the user to pick records they wish to view. all the records have sub records and sub-sub-records etc. the company has so much info that the first level is equating to 3600 nodes already. this totals at a massive 2.6mb file size including the page info. As i understand everytime i post back etc the browser has to re-draw the page. i am not doin anything stupid like recalculating the tree etc but there is a huge amount of lag while i wait for the information to be rendered. Now would using a frameset with two frames left/right be of use.

i.e. left = the tree
right = records data

as i understand this would mean that the tree isnt refreshed just my right frame can someone clarify that this is the method i am looking to implenment to increase performance ?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Technically, Frames are often considered bad for the internet.... they tend not to be SE Friendly, not particularly good to Screen/Text-Readers either.

That said, if more for a "Web-Application", such as on an Intra-net, then I'm not so sure as to the bad poitns being so important (though accessibility could be an issue!).

I would suggest possibly rethinking things abit.
You need to categorise and segregate into groups to make things faster.
Even if they are all as important as each other, you still need to make them smaller groups, as this will ifact speed up the user looking for things...
instead of showing all records A-Z, try showing A-C, D-F,G-I etc... and let the user go to the relevant group, then get the most likely data.
Much faster

Several books I have indicate that frames are scheduled for future deprecation.