Hi there. I'm new to Python. I started learning it 3 days ago. I've figured out everything by myself so far, but this is stumping me:

Whenever I load a file such as a html document or a text file, it loads fine. But when I load this gif or png file (probably many other formats, too), it only loads the first few bits of it. It happens in both urlopen() and normal file open().

E.g. http://www.majhost.com/gallery/Lijik/Star-Wars-Figures-1/ewjclay.png

Only loads:

‰PNG

Here is my code. It's a programme I made (the first one I've ever made, actually - in the past I always lost interest half-way) to help people learn regular expressions (because when I was learning them yesterday I found it a hassle using the Python interpreter). It's helpful for anybody using regexps, though, I reckon, because it's a great testing ground. The other programme I'm making downloads all the images from a website by applying a regexp to the HTML code and then forming absolute links to the images and putting them in a set to remove duplicates. It's currently just a script but tomorrow I'll make it a programme where you can preview the images and select which ones to save to your computer.

Also, any comments on my coding style - what I'm doing wrong, what I'm doing inefficiently, etc, would be appreciated.

Thanks!

import urllib
import re
import wx

# Welcome to the Regular Express!
# Code by Fuse

# source = file name or URL
# contents = what's inside the file loaded
# patternArea = what is the regexp to use?
# looadArea = what is the url or file to load?

FRAME_WIDTH = 500
FRAME_HEIGHT = 600

class MainFrame(wx.Frame):

def __init__(self):
        wx.Frame.__init__(self, None, title = 'The Regular Express',
                      pos = (200, 75), size=(FRAME_WIDTH, FRAME_HEIGHT))

self.background = wx.Panel(self)

self.infoBtn = wx.Button(self.background, label = 'Info')
        self.infoBtn.Bind(wx.EVT_BUTTON, self.infoFunction)