I’ve read around that color theorists and designers in fashion or computer graphics have coined phrases based around what colors shouldn’t go together. A couple of them are:”Red and Green Should Not Be Seen” and “Blue and Green Should Never Be Seen without Something in Between”. I am a newbie so I’m not sure if this applies in all cases any opinions on this?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

These are not always true. Take for instance the case of Blue and Green. When you look up the sky you often see the foliage of trees in the backdrop of blue sky and you like it. Whenever you go for color combinations always seek inspiration from nature, I can tell you people tend to accept the color combinations found in nature.

Certain colors are said not to go together becuase people who have various forms of color blindness can't see them. Here is some information regarding that.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb263953.aspx

In the sense of red and green, most people would say to avoid that because it is too christmasy, but in actuality red and green compliment each other in the same way orange and blue do.

In my opinion this never counts because by saying blue or green which shade of these colors you use, everything depends on that.

Say if i use light green with a turquoise shade of blue than it will surely look good. Even Red and green could look good together if they are used well after doing research on their shades.

But still when there are lots of other good colors don't go so deep.;)

It depends on what you are trying to do.

GENERAL:

If you are creating a picture, there is no real problem with any color combinations.

There are some elitists who want to force their aesthetics on others. They don't like certain color combinations. Some of my personal dislikes are:

red, yellow, and violet, without green
red, yellow, and cyan, without green
red, yellow, and blue, without green
magenta, cream, and powder blue
lavender, peach, and powder blue