Hello, I am new to java with some experience in C++.

I am trying to write code that reads two different times and displays the difference in hours and minutes.
0 is midnight and the input should be in 24hr format.
This program should work even if the first time input is later in the day than the second time input.

for example:
Time 1: 1255
Time 2: 1305
0 hours and 10 minutes.

also How would you restrict the time input from 0-23 for the first two characters and from 0-59 with the next two characters?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

You need to split the input in two parts - the first two digits and the last two. The first two digits become your our part and the last two digits become you minute part. Once you have done this, run your validations on both the hour parts for them to be in the range of 0-23 and in the same way run your validation on both the minute parts for them to be in the range of 0-59.

For calculating the difference in time you can do this :
Find out the larger of the two time quantities, this can be done by comparing the hour part and if hours are equal then comparing the mimute part. Once you have the larger of the two time quantities, there are three possibilities - 1. the minute part of the larger time quantity is greater than the minute part of the smaller time quantity, 2. the minute part of the larger time quantity is equal to the minute part of the smaller time quantity and 3. the minute part of the larger time quantity is lesser than the minute part of the smaller time quantity.