Hello guys!

I am totally new in visual basic and have got desperately stuck for 4 hours with this problem which I bet is very stupidly simple.

The simple program loads a .rtf file in a rich text box and using a textbox and a button, I have to search the worlds in that file.

The Find button uses this code.

Private Sub btnFind_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnFind.Click
        rtfWindChill.Find(txtFind.Text, RichTextBoxFinds.MatchCase)
    End Sub

So this basically finds the first instance of the searched word and highlight but I have to find all the occurrence and highlight it. I guess there would be some sort of loop here but after going around google for hours, I am hopeless and have come to my last refugee. So any ideas would be hugely appreciated. Thank you.
6pandn21

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Yes, you do need a loop

Dim FoundAtPosition As Integer

FoundAtPosition = RichTextBox1.Find("foo", RichTextBoxFinds.MatchCase)
Do Until FoundAtPosition < 0
  ' Highlight text
  ' Search next occurrence
  FoundAtPosition = RichTextBox1.Find("foo", FoundAtPosition + 1, RichTextBoxFinds.MatchCase)
Loop

Thank you, I will have a look on it and try to work it in my code.

6pandn21

Hello again guys!

Sorry for being sort of too much of a newbie here. But I am again stuck. I used the code that Teme64 provided into my program with very little modification which being changing the 'foo' to the input of my text box txtFind and changing the textbox1 to rtfWindChill.

When I run it, it does the same old thing: Search one occurrence and that's it. So the loop is not running but strangely when I search for single letters, it always go to the last occurrence of the letter and shows the program being refresh as if the loop is running. Being hopelessly a beginner, I can sense what's happening. I hope I am not complaining too much.

The code is below

FoundAtPosition = rtfWindChill.Find(txtFind.Text, RichTextBoxFinds.MatchCase)