Hi every one, I am a doctor have a interest in programing ,actually i have been trying to practice on switch statements but i was unable to display numbers like 365 in words
"Three hundred and sixty five", i actually faced problem, all what i was able was to display number 1 to 9 only . I need to display tens, hundreds .
If any one has an idea please help;
i love c++, language

#include<iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
    int a;
nxt:    cout<<"\n Please enter a number(99 to stop)..";
    cin>>a;
    if(a==99) goto xt;
    switch (a)
    {
    case 1: cout<<"One\n";
        break;
    case 2: cout<<"Two\n";
        break;
    case 3: cout<<"Three\n";
        break;
    case 4: cout<<"four\n";
case 5: cout<<"five\n";
case 6: cout<<"six\n";
case 7: cout<<"seven\n";
case8: cout<<"eight\n";
case 9: cout<<"nine\n";

}
goto nxt;
xt:
;
return 0;   
}

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

And here the complaining starts all over: Don't use void main(), it's evil!!
Migrate to standard C++

>but i was unable to display numbers like 365 in words
Well, where do you think the "hundred" will be inserted ?

Why using goto if you can easily use a while loop ?

The problem isn't strange, but your code is incomplete :)

It's harder than it seems at first. 1-9 is easy, but 10-19 are different and need special cases. Then you need to do 20-99 and can reuse 1-9 inside, then 100-999 reusing everything with a prefix of n hundred. The higher the numbers you allow, the harder it gets to keep things short and simple.

I think switch statements are crazy for this problem. :) An array based approach is going to be much much shorter. You can store the string for each carefully selected part of a number, then break the number up and pick that string out of the array.

Stack Overflow had a cool discussion on the ways to do it.

no actually, i have been told that switch can be used easier than array,,,,,,,,,,,
that is ok,