Hello everyone, first of all I would like to say that I'm new to java and I'm getting this error while trying to compile a program from a book that I am using to learn the language.

Ok so the program is very basic just two classes here is my code:

class Dog {
  int size;
  String breed;
  String name;
  void bark() {
    System.out.println("Ruff! Ruff");
  }
}

and...

class DogTestDrive {
  public static void main(String[] args) {
    Dog d = new Dog();
    d.size = 40;
    d.bark();
  }
}

Out of those two classes the Dog class compiles fine but when I try to compile the second class(DogTestDrive), I'm getting this error:

c:\users\owner\desktop\DogTestDrive.java:3: cannot find symbol
symbol : class Dog
Dog d = new Dog();
^
2 errors

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? This is the second time I've gotten this type of error even though I copy the code word for word. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

in DogTestDrive class check whether you import Dog class or not ..

you should add line as

import package.Dog;

package is Directory name which contains Dog class..

and also check DogTestDrive AND Dog class are in the same directory or not...

in DogTestDrive class check whether you import Dog class or not ..

Not at all necessary. If both the classes Dog and DogTestDrive are in the same directory then it isn't required that the referring class requires to add an import statement. This is true even if the Dog class is not mentioned as public. If you do not mention a class as public it's access specifier falls to 'default' i.e package access but since none of the classes are within a package and rest within the same directory the access is permitted. Both OP and you can try it for your self.