How would I make all letters be an invalid input? I want all letters, numbers greater than 20, and numbers less than or equal to 0 to be invalid inputs. I used an or cause I want any case to be an invalid input. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>

int main (void)
{
    float purchase = 0;

printf("Please enter amount of purchase:\n");

printf("purchase: ");
    scanf("%f" , &purchase);
    printf("The purchase you entered is: $%.2f\n", purchase);

if((purchase  > 20) || (purchase <= 0))
        {
        printf("Invalid purchase amount\n");
        printf("Amount should be greater than 0 and less than or"); 
        printf(" equal to 20\n");
        return 1;
        }

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 27 Replies

You need to read the input as characters
Test each character to make sure it's a digit
If so, convert the value to int/float.

How would I do that? I'm new with c.

>How would I make all letters be an invalid input?
I notice you don't check the return value of scanf. That's the first step in recognizing whether it failed or not. Then you can recover:

while (scanf("%f", &purchase) != 1) {
  /* This is me being lazy */
  while (getchar() != '\n')
    ;
  clearerr(stdin);
  printf("Invalid input, do it again: ");
  fflush(stdout);
}

How would I do that? I'm new with c.

Do what?
1) Read characters?
2) Test characters?
3) Convert characters?

If 1, don't bother trying it yet. Come back to this in a couple weeks and you'll be able to do it.
If 2, wait until you learn loops. Then come back to it.
If only 3, look up string conversion functions in your book. They start with ato* and str*

Another solution could be something of this sort

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
        int i;
        scanf("%d",&i);
        if(i<=0)
        {
                printf("%d\n",i);                                        // This takes care of 0, -ve and alphabets
                printf("Invalid Input\n");
        }
        else