Hello, I'm still a huge beginner in C++ and while i spent hours trying to find a solution to this problem i came to this forum pretty often and I thought it'd be a good idea if I try to ask about my problem. (If you notice anything that can be done better I'd be more than happy to hear an criticism, advice, or lesson about coding). I just wanted to try a little project on my own outside of my C++ class and I wanted to make a timer for myself (since i always end up losing my sense of time on the computer haha), Everything was going fine until i found the urge to make a Snooze and shutdown available while my program continuously plays a beep (Sort of like an alarm clock). Obviously Im stuck at being able to input something while the beep is going on. I don't even know if its possible since If i do cin>> in the loop itll only beep once before it waits for input and if i dont itll just never stop looping. Line 40 and down is me trying to use getch() (I read up about inputting without the prompting of enter, so i was hoping it would somehow work) but it doesnt work the way I want it to.
Edit: i use dev-cpp btw :P (If theres a better program/compiler out there id also be glad to hear about that.)

#include <iostream>	
#include <time.h>
#include <windows.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <conio.h>

using namespace std;

int main()                            
{
 int num; //number being inputted by the user for the time.
 int input; //number inputted by the user in order to make his selection.

cout<<"Please choose what you would like your countdown in.\n"; //Whether the user wants their time in minutes or seconds.
 cout<<"1.Seconds\n";
 cout<<"2.Minutes\n";
 cin>>input; //The user inputs his selection for the countdown.
 Beep(1450,300);
 system ( "cls" );

switch (input){
         case 1: //The user has chosen his countdown in seconds (1000 ms countdown)
         cout<<"Please input the number of seconds to initiate the countdown.\n"; //Input by the user
         cin>>num;