Hi i am very new to java and have come across this problem in my code. Will someone please explain to me why i am getting a null point exception and what one is? I have tried to find out what it means but i cannot find an explanation anywhere.
Thank you

class Main { 

String s;

void initializeStuff() {
        String s = "aaa";
    }

void displayStuff() {
        System.out.print("The length of '"+s+"' is: ");
        System.out.print(s.length());
    }

public static void main(String[] args) {
        Main main = new Main();
        main.initializeStuff();
        main.displayStuff();
    }
}

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

is it string.length, without the brackets?

LOL, where did I get that from? Erm could it be the way you're declaring it? I.e lack of public/private declarations?

I have removed the brackets and get the following errors:
cannot find symbol variable length
Thanks anyway.
G

I have removed the brackets and get the following errors:
cannot find symbol variable length
Thanks anyway.
G

No that was a mistake on my part,I guess my memory isn't that great.:D

I have tried using both public and private declarations but all to no avail. The error message i get from the compiler points to line 11 which is:
System.out.print (s.length());
the full error message i am geting is:
The length of 'null' is: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException
at Main.displayStuff(main.java:11)
at Main.main(main.java:17)
I would be most grateful if you could help me understand why this is happening rather than providing me with the code. I have hit a brick wall with this i am afraid.
Thank you
G

I think I know what you've done. It's saying string 's' has nothing in it. I.e. it is null.

I know you've declared in as String s = "aaa"; but it doesn't work like that. It's to do with public and private scope.

Any basic java tute should tell you where you're going wrong.