I am new to macs, having just purchased one of the new MacBook Pros. I am still trying to adjust, but one of the annoying features that's killing me is the fact that I can't seem to download the photos taken with my iPhone 3G to my mac without using iPhoto.

I already have thrillions of pictures catalogued and categorised by Year and Events (but not with iPhoto, just by creating folders). I don't want to import these folders or manage my pictures with iPhoto. I tried importing them without copying the files and iPhoto just creates "events" that aren't really helping with my organising.

Bottomline, I don't wanna use iPhoto at all to manage my images. I wanna keep downloading my images from my iPhone and Canon cameras (which I haven't even tried yet!) and sorting them directly into the folders I want.

Is there a way of doing this? How do I find the drive (my iPhone) and just transfer the photos straight to one of my folders?

Thanks

C

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I'm not sure if you can do it directly, but you can download with Iphoto and then just move them from Iphotos default folders to the ones you want.

If you aren't going to use iPhoto at all you can just remove it from the system, it is part of iLife and is not required for normal operation of OS X. In it's place You can use something like diskaid to retrieve the photos from the iphone.

http://www.digidna.net/diskaid/ (Free app)

As for your cannon camera you will probably run into a snag with that as well, Under OS X cannon cameras report themselves as cameras instead of mass storage devices so they don't just show up on the desktop. I use iPhoto to manage my pictures so this was never a problem for me, but what you can do is you can either buy a usb card reader which are very inexpensive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010010069%201319721987%201179712244&name=USB%202.0