Dear all,

Sorry to bother you all with my inadequate mac knowledge but I really do need to pick someones brain. I noticed my Norton anti-virus subscription has expired on my Mac OSX. Apparently I must buy a new subscription key. However as I am a destitute student, I have only a few pennies to feed myself let alone purchase software. Where am I to find a subscription key code? I would be grateful for any pointers in the right direction.

Yours Sincerely,

Trampy student of a
creative persuasion

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Sorry, subscription keys cost money, and if you find one, it's either already used by someone else, or it's illegal. The money you pay is for Norton continually releasing updates to protect you against the latest viruses.

My advice: Norton Antivirus will continue to function, even without a subscrption. It won't stay updated, true, but with the amount of Mac viruses out there these days, it's hardly worth the subscription. And as long as you aren't doing anything stupid (such as downloading random files from unknown sites), you shouldn't get yourself in trouble.

Hope this helps

You don't need AV on Mac OSX.

To install software you have to enter a password. So long as you think before putting your password in the little box your computer will be safe.

Sorry, subscription keys cost money, and if you find one, it's either already used by someone else, or it's illegal. The money you pay is for Norton continually releasing updates to protect you against the latest viruses.

My advice: Norton Antivirus will continue to function, even without a subscrption. It won't stay updated, true, but with the amount of Mac viruses out there these days, it's hardly worth the subscription. And as long as you aren't doing anything stupid (such as downloading random files from unknown sites), you shouldn't get yourself in trouble.

Hope this helps