Hi all, and thanks for reading.

This is my 1st post, I'm not an expert at pc's, but do like to try to fix them, but now I give up!! lol

I have a Samsung GT9000 laptop, win xp pro, SP2. I was doing a defrag, and seleted "shut down when done", only to find the dreaded blue screen when i woke up saying Bad Pool caller. I have seen this before and have normally found a way through it, but this time is different. I can't even get into safe mode, can't format the drive, can't boot from disc, i just don't know what to try next. Or should I just throw the thing out the window?? lol

Any suggestions would be grately appreciated

Jane

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Welcome to Daniweb Jane. I guess the problem is with the harddisk. Bad sectors maybe! Cant boot from a disc ? Have you changed the boot order in the bios ? Check this link. . This might be of some help to you !

Cheers,
Naveen

Well, I finally changed the bios so it boots from CD. I have tried to reinstal windows, it loads files, comes to the main install screen, no matter what i chose, install or "R" for recovery, nothing!! I still get the bsod and it shuts down.

Still can't get into safe mode either.

I'm pulling my hair out now.

Any suggestions?

Check this link. I dunno if this will solve your problem. But you can give it a try!

Thanks for that. I do know how to get into recovery mode and what to do, but its just the fact I can't get into it, everytime i try i get the bad pool caller screen up again and have to restart.

Thanks for your help :o)

Jane

:S oh!

What's on the BSOD message?
The code starting with 0x0000... would be particularly helpful.

If you have 2 sticks of RAM, try booting with one at a time. For a single stick, try to borrow one and swap memory.

The code is Stop:0x000000C2

It only has 1 stick in there, i did try another one but it wouldn't boot up at all

Thanks for replying guys, i do appreciate it!

"0x000000C2: BAD_POOL_CALLER