Hi,

I read the other posts about dead Dell Latitudes, but I haven't found one quite like mine. I was working this morning, then I walked away for a few minutes, my computer was completely locked up. So I powered down. Now when I press the power on button I shift lock and scroll lock buttons flash for about a minute and then it stops. Doesn't even seem to be trying to boot up. I tried to remove the battery, no go. I tried to power up with the battery, also no go.

I am not a hardware techie kind of person, I am an information engineer. So playing with the motherboard etc. is beyond me. I just need to know if this is an easy fix or if I need to take it in for servicing.

Thanks for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

If your system is still under warranty you will probably want to have Dell work on it.

Well, that wasn't the answer that I was hoping for. Thanks for answering.

If anyone else has any other answers I would still love to hear from you.

Found out that most likely it needs a new mother board.

Hello,

My name is Mike, I’m a Technical Analyst at Dell corporate headquarters in Round Rock, TX. I’m part of an internet outreach team developed to interact with the online community regarding technical questions and issues that customers face with Dell products.

Blinking Scroll and Caps lock lights indicate a problem with the system recognizing the memory. Use this manual and try reseating the memory to see if it helps the problem. If you have two memory sticks, try removing one and then powering on the system, if you get the same problem, put the original stick back in and remove the other. This will help narrow down a bad memory stick.

If one stick works, try removing the good stick and put the “failed” chip in the slot that the good chip came out of, if it works then the problem is a bad slot on the motherboard.

Mike
Dell customer advocate