hi there,

A few months ago i decided to build a completely new machine, aiming to design a powerful gaming machine, after some discussions about my hardware, i have decided i think i need to upgrade, im not an expert on hardware so this is where you guys come in :)...

I am currently using http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-087-OC&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat= and for some reason i am getting the feeling this is crap ram and i should use faster, the problem is, does anyone recommend any basic specs for a 4gb that i should aim for, speed, timings etc etc...

Also i am thinking of getting a different OS, i currently use XP prof but am considering a change, does anyone know of a better OS that i could use, (faster etc)...

Thanks for the help

Jfuller113 :)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

It's best to match your RAM to your motherboard and processor. So, if you're getting a new Mobo and CPU soon you should decide on that before buying RAM.

If you've already got your sweet new mobo and CPU, then it's a fair bet some 800MHz might unleash some more overclocking power, but it depends on what you've got.

For stock standard use I think your 667MHz should be OK, but as I said, it depends on what you've got. A 'powerful gaming machine' needs 800MHz RAM, IMO.

Next step up is something like THIS which is 800MHz.

I don't know much about latency (except that less is more, or something like that)

Your motherboard manufacturer's website should list all the RAM it's tested to work in your mobo. A good place to start.

ahhh ok then cheers for the advice mate, much appreciated :)

Jfuller113

No problems :)

I should mention that 800MHz is by no means the highest RAM goes. DDR2 comes in 1066Mhz speeds (+ overclock) while DDR3 can come in speeds of up to 1600MHz I think, at the price of higher latency.

Any other questions, feel free. When you're done you should mark the thread as solved.

;)