Has anyone found a way to read Jaz discs into a Mac iBook (mine being G3 White, two USB ports). That is by using the SCSI-USB adapter cable to get into the iBook. The Jaz drive and the adapter cable are both said to be for iMacs and Power Macs...and the iBook, it occurs to me, is NOT a "Power Mac" so something is missing, as the Jaz drive won't mount on the iBook desktop. Tried it also on an old Clamshell iBook too. I have OS9.1 on the Clamshell, and OS9 and OSX on the new White iBook. Is there some way I can do this to get my backed-up data (from my dead Wallstreet Powerbook) which now is imprisoned on my Jaz discs? Anyone?

All the best,

Bob Bridge
rbridge3@earthlink.net

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

How much data is on the Jaz disk(s)? Is the hard drive faulty on the Wallstreet?

Hello,

OS X has always been a bit IFFY on SCSI support... I have a G3 powerbook, the Lombardi, and certain things on SCSI do not work, and certain things do work. I typically go into OS 9 if I need to do SCSI work.

Will your iBook load OS9? If so, give it a try. Your Jazz might work properly.

If memory serves, a Jaz removable disk held 1 GB of data or so.

Christian

How much data is on the Jaz disk(s)? Is the hard drive faulty on the Wallstreet?

The JAZ discs are the 1Gb discs. The hard drive is not faulty, and we are able to get data from it, to an external display. But this is very intermittent due to failures in the display sections of the Powerbook. But all the HD data is already on the Jaz discs, and all I need to do is play them into a Mac that is compatible with IOMEGA's Jaz product. Which apparenty, iBooks are not. The Powerbook Wallstreet is a "power mac' and was compatible, as are iMacs, but iBooks are somehow different than their big brother 'power macs' so the Jaz won't talk to the iBook.

Bob

Hello,