HEY GUYS, i'm new to the computer scene and i just recently finished building my PC.
SPECS: motherboard= ASUS P5KPL-CM
CPU= Intel Pentium DUAL CORE E2180
GRAPHICS CARD= NViDIA 7200GS
1GB RAM 800mhz DDR2 HYNIX
Anyways my motherboard has an overclock feature were you can use 5%/10%/15%/20% etc overclock profiles. But just can't seem to get Past 10% overclock which gives me gain from 2Ghz to 2.213 ghz. I know my Cpu can do more cause ive read up on it before buying and everyone else seems to be able to get 75% Gains with ease. Please help me overclock. Instructions or any saught of help will do thank you. EMAIL ME AT= povsta@live.com.au

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

Generally speaking, the automatic overclock features that most boards offer aren't very good. You will be much better off doing it manually...
For example, your processor has a FSB of 200MHz. You can easily raise that to 266MHz and probably not have to touch any other settings; at most just give your CPU a very small bump in voltage. And by doing that you already would have a 2.66GHz processor, with a lot more to go...

Read up on this, lot of great support forums out there... check out overclockers.com

Do you want my advice. don't overclock! It is a waist of good hardware. all overclocking does is add extra stress to your hardware without much performance gain. if your processor is stable and runs efficiently, leave it alone. but if you just have to overclock it, Flynismo is right. on board overclocking isn't very good at all. you need to bump the FSB just a little.

Hey there i tried what u said, but anything over 224cpu frequency won't work. it won't get past the loggon screen. turns of at this point. I've tried everything i could think off. CPU voltage to VTT setin . But thats about it i dont know what else to do.