I got a new Maxtor 500 GB sata II hard drive last month..it's still under warrany..but this was my 2nd hdd,my first one is a seagate 80 GB SATA drive which contains my Os, out of no where all of a sudden my both driver stopped working.. My board is intel DG 31 PR. With an intel dual core.
I went into bios but it said i don't have a hard disk installed..All the ports shown were empty except the one with a dvd writer which is also sata.
I got a cooler master 600 w psu.
I tried changing cables and power cables etc..Which gave me a positive result that without 500 GB DRIVE my 80 gb works and it boots..But with both of them installed they don't work.. Even i tried only 500 GB BUT had same problem that it was not available at all.. While holding drive in hand i can feel it spinning..means it's getting power from psu. What's wrong.. I have my so important data in that drive..this problem is making me nuts.
Waiting for answer.

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

With my last HD problem, using a good disk recovery tool helped.

You might also want to check the jumper cables to ensure that they are fitted properly and correctly configured. The fact that you can't even see it in the BIOS anymore is indicative of either a physical (cabling) problem, or one of the most extreme kinds of HD failure I've ever heard of.

What does HD failure means..Losing all my data..That's horribale buddy.. Any suggestions??
i have tried cables interchange etc..But of no use..plus i don't think jumper setting is required..it was working fine since last few weeks..How to recover with a tool once its not even shown anywhere..rather it effects my 80 gig disk too :(

Plz respond..i need help.. Its getting on my nerves. I can't even dream of loosing my data

HD means "hard disk", and if you have a total failure then yes your data would be lost.
Can you think of any changes you might have made to your system, software or hardware, before the drive stopped working?