Hi

Last night my machine started to play up by not completing the boot up process. Each time I started up, the process would get get less far into the boot - now it does nothing at all. I have tried booting up with operating system [XP Pro] - nothing. Machine is powered up OK - as is the monitor - just a blank screen, not even getting to memeory check. What's going on? I have been using the system [self-built] for at least 2 years with no problems.

Regards

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

it sounds as though it may not be able to see the hard disk. have yu a disc that will boot (linux or winxp repair) to test the HD? Also one can boot from a USB (or floppy) if you have a drive... have u tried that and then test for HD?

I had a mboard fault in hte disk chips that gave these symptoms

BOL
M

it sounds as though it may not be able to see the hard disk. have yu a disc that will boot (linux or winxp repair) to test the HD? Also one can boot from a USB (or floppy) if you have a drive... have u tried that and then test for HD?

I had a mboard fault in hte disk chips that gave these symptoms

BOL
M

Thanks. I don't seem to have a repair disk. How can I boot from a USB? Is there anything I can download onto a USB from my laptop?

trygoogle usb boot win xp software. u can dload sware to boot a modern computer via usb.
also any linux iso cut to cd should also boot.
if it an thensee the HD u can use a win repair disc (also see google win repair disk)
bol
m

Thanks. I don't seem to have a repair disk. How can I boot from a USB? Is there anything I can download onto a USB from my laptop?

Okay.
In order to boot from a USB you will need:
-A USB at least 2 gigs big.
-Access to a second computer
-Your original version of Windows <whatever> on CD
-A BIOS that allows booting from USB