I went to veiw some pictures, but the CD's tray wouldn't open. I went to add/delete hardware to troubleshoot the optical system, and it appeares to be ok. The green LED comes on when I try to access the CD, but that's it.

Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
CPU Type AMD Athlon, 600 MHz (6 x 100)
Motherboard Name MSI K7Pro (MS-6195) (6 PCI, 1 AGP, 3 DIMM)
Optical Drive CD-ROM Drive/G6D

I am well versed in the use of a VOM, and can recognize and trouble shoot most components on a PC board. But I don't know where to start with this one, I'm new to computers (first computer given to me 11/2004).

I do appreciate your response.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I've seen that sometimes, usually booting the machine gets rid of the gremlins.

If it doesn't (in this machine it may have been a flaky connection building up static charge) you should just replace the drive, CD drives cost next to nothing.

this has happened to me also, open the tray with a pin, then close it again then reboot the machine, if that doesnt work your cd drive is wasted

Thanks for the response guys...I did open it with a pin, reclosed it, rebooted it, just the danged LED comes on. Is there any possibilty that this is a software problem?
I had another thread ealier asking about whether or not to save an installation file, and Catweazle suggetsted that I save on a disk, I responded that I didn't have a RW CD...looks like I'm heading that way!

my Techical Manager told me if u LED is on all the time and does not switch of, it means ur cd drive is finished.