Hello All, This is my first time on here. I just started building a computer, I have an ASUS A7V600 motherboard and a Athlon XP 2500+ "Barton", AGP video card, 80GB hard drive, 512mb ram, copper heat sink
Ok that said, i had no problems initially, the computer started was able to get into bios and monitor temp and change whatever I wanted.
Tried installing Windows 2000, got an error message and the floppy drive kept lighting even after i changed the boot order. Went into bios and disabled floppy seek and the floppy drive. AFter saving changes the screen went black to restart and has never came back. Found out installed A drive cable wrong and installed new floppy drive. Just found out CPU heat sink grease was not covering at all. Only thing i get now is power up, cd rom light keeps flashing when i put in the ASUS support cd and the hard drive led will flash.
I hope it didnt burn the CPU will try resitting it tonight and applying heat sink compound. IF anyone can help I appreciate it, been a long frustrating process with dumb errors on my part.
Oh yeah, also tried resetting cmos and this did nothing
Sorry for the long post, its been a long process
Thanks,
Bill

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

Obviously some cable was wrong, make sure you have really attached everything according to their manual.

It is either that, or incorrectly installed and voltage blew it or overheated something.