Please be patient because i am a newb !!

What ive got and the problem the problem:

A8N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard
XFX GEFORCE 6800 PCI-E 128MB DUAL DVI
Seagate Barracuda ST3200822AS 200Gb
AMD (Venice) Athlon 64 3500+
Corsair (TWINX1024-3200C2PT) 1024MB
350W PSU and 500W PSU

Well i have a complicated problem and in need of desperate help!!

It started to build a pc out of these components + all the extras. I plugged my 350W PSU into the motherboard and the and turned it on, it all booted up fine but i didnt get a display on my monitor, (newb guessing that the graphics card wasnt getting enough power so i replaced with a 500w PSU. When i switched it on, the motherboard didnt power on despite the green LED lighting up, no fans came on, which was the big indicator, i then swapped the back round just to check and make sure and yet the same thing happened.

Please can somebody help me because i am desperate to use this pc as it is a nice spec.

cheers

ps i have through the sticker at the top.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The first I would do is pull out the XFX GEFORCE 6800 PCI-E 128MB DUAL DVI card, and throw in a old PCI card in to your PCI slot and see is it power up if it does it could be powersupply or video card is bad. If it doesn't you motherboard is Bad. (FROM THE SOULD OF IT YOU FRY THE MOTHERBOARD WHICH WHY YOUR LIGHT COME ON BUT NO FAN NOT A GOOD SIGN, SEEN THIS A FEW TIME CARD PROABLY WASN'T IN ALL THE WAY OR USE A 350 W POWERSUPPLY INSTEAD OF A TRUE POWER 480W OR HIGHER COULD HAVE DONE IT. YOUR COMPUTER TRY PULLING MORE POWER THEN IT COULD CAUSE THE VOLTAGE TO DROP AND THE AMPAGE TO JUMP WHICH WOULD CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE MOTHERBOARD.

1. Athlon 64 3500 89W
2.XFX GEFORCE 6800 PCI-E 128MB DUAL DVI between 77.5 Watts, and 123.5 Watts
3.A8N-SLI Deluxe Motherboard 75W
4.Seagate Barracuda ST3200822AS 200Gb
Power Management (watts)
Seek: 13.5
Read/Write: 13
Idle: 9
Standby: 2
5. DVD drive 12.5 w each
6.Corsair (TWINX1024-3200C2PT) 1024MB 10w