I am installing a new hard drive for a friend on her mac g3. using the panther OS. I am totally new to mac.
the new disk that we got does not contain any formatting software for the mac. just windows.
I have done this many times before on a PC, but never on a mac.
it is a seagate 200 gig drive, I went to there site to get a utility for formatting and it sends me back to apple's website. I have searched Apple's faq's and support and I can't find anything that will explain what needs to be done so the system will recognize the drive.
she is running her system on an external drive now. the original had failed.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

go to application/utilities and launch disk utility. in disk utility select the 200gb HD and then select erase, in the pull down menu select mac os extended and click erase.

let us know if it work.

thanks for replying, we will give it a shot and let you know.

go to application/utilities and launch disk utility. in disk utility select the 200gb HD and then select erase, in the pull down menu select mac os extended and click erase.

let us know if it work.

I installed the same drive (Seagate 200) in a G4 running OS 10.2.8, and it will only format to 128 gig. Any clues?

I installed the same drive (Seagate 200) in a G4 running OS 10.2.8, and it will only format to 128 gig. Any clues?

actually we haven't had time to try the new drive yet. work has kept us busy. but i will let you know as soon as we do. if you find anything else out please let us know. thanks.

actually we haven't had time to try the new drive yet. work has kept us busy. but i will let you know as soon as we do. if you find anything else out please let us know. thanks.