Hello,

Just yesterday I picked up parts for a new computer that I'd planned to build. I had a couple of friends over to help me out.
It went quite well considering none of us have ever built a PC from scratch before, only upgraded certain parts and so on.
At first it wouldn't start at all but that ended up being only a wire being connected the wrong way, so now it runs fine - All fans are revolving, the hard drive is going, the bluray burner is alive, the graphics card's fans are going as well, and the motherboard's green LED is lit.
However - My monitor gets no signal. I've tried two different monitors, several different connectors and both PCI-ports on my motherboard, and I've swapped the RAM sticks and all that, but nothing works. The screen still says "No signal input" and fades to black.
To me, the green LED on the motherboard would suggest that it's not fried or anything, but then again I'm only a newbie so what do I know.
This is my setup:

Motherboard: Asus - Socket AM3 - ATX AMD 870 (M4A87TD EVO) - PCI-E / HD Audio
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 970 Black Edition 3,5GHz / 8MB / Socket AM3
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
GFX card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 1GB OC (GV-N460OC-1GI) - PCI-E / 2xDVI
RAM: Corsair XMS3 8GB DDR3 PC3-1333MHz (CL9) (4x2GB) (CMX8GX3M4A1333C9)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB (Cache 32 MB / 7200RPM / SATA II)
Chassi: NZXT Phantom (all four default fans are working)

All parts are brand new except the graphics card and the PSU which I bought back in October to upgrade my HP Pavilion a6235.sc. They were both working perfectly fine on that computer.

I've googled around for a bit and looked at this forum but I haven't found anything that works so far.
Can anyone please help me out? I spent quite a good deal on this PC so I'd really like to get it to work, preferably without having to take it to a workshop and let someone do it for me since that's expensive, heh :P

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies