Hey everyone!

I'm new to the forum but am seeking some advice on my laptop.

Just this afternoon, I came home from a week's holiday and turned on my computer. The computer sounds as though it's booting up normally, it's responsive to its power cable and makes the usual whirring noises it makes when it's booting up. But there is a black screen. Nothing at all is happening on screen.

Does it sound like my video card is broken?

I'm trying to avoid having to pay a fortune for a consultation with computer a fixing company, so I can just tell them what is wrong with it and ask for a replacement video card, and for them to install that for me.

If you think that this is what's wrong with it, could you give me an idea of how much a new video card will cost. I'm a student so I hope it's not that much and I need my laptop all the time!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

On this topic, I just accidentally created a black screen with my presario r3000 when I booted up. The last thing I did on the laptop before shutting down was disable the default monitor. Is there a way to enable it from the black screen, for example a hotkey or something? Any help would be greatly appreciated. PJA67

After you boot up, hit <fn F7> and see if it helps. This key combination cycles the video card through internal, external and no monitor. While doing this, have another nmonitor plugged into the rear video port.c This will let you know if your video card is any good.. Also, check to see if the little lid switch is stuck down. Most laptops have a switch that depresses when the lid is closed, and this can turn off the monitor also. Try and repost please, good luck.