I've run into 2 motherboards in the last month that had
bad capacitors on them (Bulging, Leaking or both) that
was causing wierd power problems, and startup problems.

I heard about this one on the web about 6 months ago, yet
haven't seen anything personally until just now.

One mb was a Gateway OEM board.

Just giving everyone a heads up again on an old issue. ;)

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I've run into 2 motherboards in the last month that had
bad capacitors on them (Bulging, Leaking or both) that
was causing wierd power problems, and startup problems.

I heard about this one on the web about 6 months ago, yet
haven't seen anything personally until just now.

Here's a posting I wrote a little while ago...

I have been an electronic technician for forty years and a computer technician for about 25. I am considering putting together a Guide to Replacing Motherboard CPU Capacitors -- but until then I will share some tips. Please be sure to read this guide IN ITS ENTIRETY before proceeding.

I STRONGLY recommend the use of Panasonic (Matsushita) FC series electrolytic capacitors. Why? Not only are they the best available, but they are quite easy to obtain from Digi-Key http://www.DigiKey.com.

I have done business with Digi-Key for over 30 years. During that time, over 90% of the elecrolytic capacitors I have purchased for repair and fabrication have been Panasonic from Digi-Key.

The FC series are low equivalent-series-resistance (low ESR) 105-degrees-C capacitors. This means that the high ripple currents that flow through them in this application not only flow more easily (a Good Thing), but also that less of this current is dissipated as internal heat (also a Good Thing). "Normal" capacitors are rated 85-degrees-C and are just not up to this kind of stress.