Hi i've spent the best part of today trying to do some research and can't seem to find any specific answers, so here's the problem and i hope someone can lend a hand.

I'm running a dell xps m170 laptop with xp pro sp2. I was playing half-life 2 the other day, with i8kfangui with fans forced to run at max speed. After about 15minutes of gameplay a couple of artifacts popped up on the screen, which rapidly turned into an entire screen of artifacts followed by an unresponsive system. I forced a power off. Upon restarting:

bios load screen- fine
windows load - fine, then artifacts then i think bsod (can't tell very badly distorted)
tried again
bios load screen - distorted
safe mode screen - badly distorted
etc.
finally, cpu starts up, you can hear the fans initialise, you can hear hdd start boot then stops, all this whilst screen is black, if i leave it for a while the screen goes solid white
I've plugged the laptop into a monitor via analog and digital and nothing still

I am no expert but i gather the gpu is fried, now my dilemna is; how can i check this is the case, if i am 100% sure then i'll try and get a replacement card they're not that cheap : S, if not is there any other way out of this?

I took 2 pics i can post them if they help or clarify anything if you need me to.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

generally a new graphics card in a laptop = a new motherboard (as there usually integrated) = a new laptop

that's the thing, this system uses a discrete card rather than an integrated solution, i've had a look and the card can definitely be removed, that's why i'm asking if my gpu is definitely dead, if so i'll try and buy a replacement, i did see one on ebay.

Here's the link to removing the gpu:

http://support.euro.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/xpsm170/en/sm/video.htm

The system had the Geforece go 6800 ultra and the go 7800 GTX available so they both should fit.

So do you reckon the current card is a loss?