I have tried everything I can think of to get IE back. First IE 7 stopped working and advice from India ended up with suggesting downloading the new version IE Beta 2 which doesn't work either. Have tried disabling add-ons...no good. I get the message check
HTTP port 80
HTTPS port 443
FTP port 2
HOW do I do that?!!!! I am an amateur at this.
I also looked at Firewall settings in Control box which looked perfectly normal (not xtra high)...
I hate to give up and call some-one expensive in. I suspect a Microsoft update because it had been perfectly alright. Outlook Express is working and Yahoo for the internet as now. Any ideas?
Would very grateful. In simple language please. Would RegCure be likely to help...do other people who know about these things use this ? Thanks. Julia

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

hi, i wouldn't use regCure yet or ever maybe !
when do you get this error .
have you tried Firefox browser

Why wouldn't I use RegCure? Has detected approx 1400 errors?? But I haven't signed up yet.
I guess I am just used to IE but will try Firefox. My guess is that it won't download because of whtaever is blocking IE....I tried the Google ...silver? whatever... and that was blocked.
Technology is wonderful...when it works!
Thanks.

Failed to Connect        
The connection was refused when attempting to contact en-gb.[url]www.mozilla.com[/url].

Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection.
    *  Could the site be temporarily unavailable? Try again later.
    *  Are you unable to browse other sites?  Check the computer's network connection.
    *  Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.

I tried to download Firefox...
this is what I get...
????