A few days ago I accidentally inadvertently clicked upon a popup ad that I was trying to get rid of and a black screen appeared on my desktop replacing my wallpaper with a message that still reads, 'Warning, your computer is infected!

How the hec do I get rid of this ruddy thing?

I am fairly new to computers, therefore, at this stage will not go into areas of the computer where I have no knowledge. I have tried using various tools to assist me to change this situation, get it back to normal, to no avail so far.

I have on the computer Symantec Premier System Tools 2005 + AVG Grisoft free edition, also running Spybot Search and Destroy, Adaware, CWShredder, AdwareAway, SpySubtract, Trojan Remover, SysClean and finally Norton GoBack.

An hour or so ago I ran the Trojan Remover, at least the computer after running this speeded up considerably, prior to this it was attaining web pages dead slow.

The computer is a Compaq PIII.

Please be patient with me if you would be so kind, walk me through the process and please help to get this machine; virus, trojan, doodah this and doodah that, completely free of all this crap that seems to have found it's way on here.

Would really appreciate professional experience upon this from someone trustworthy.

Please keep it as simple as possible.

Thank you ever so much for your time and consideration.

All the best!!

Mark

Recommended Answers

All 30 Replies

Download HijackThis selfextracting zip version from here. Once downloaded, double click on the file & it will install into it's own, permanent folder.
Start HJT & press the "Do a system scan and save a log file" button. When the scan is finished a window will pop up giving you the option of where to save it. Save it to desktop where it is easy to access. Open the log file and copy the entire contents of the file & paste it into the body of your post. DO NOT FIX ANYTHING YET. Most of what is there is necessary for the running of your system.