When a system is spread with viruses. . . what the virus first attack in system ?. . system files ? or data stored in hard disk etc ?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Im no virus expert but i do know that would all depend on what the virus was built to do !

The virus could be introduced into your system in a number of ways. Some of them are

• you opened an email attachment with an executable that contained the virus
  • you downloaded and installed a program that contained the virus
  • you visited a rogue web site that installed the virus
  • you plugged in an infected external device with AutoPlay enabled
  • you gave someone physical access to your computer and he/she installed the virus
  • your system was not protected with a firewall and someone hacked in

This list is far from complete.

question was what does the virus attack first ,just saying

Good viruses usually start by placing themself on the startup (by creating a registry value) and after that they begin to modify / infect system files to make sure they're harder to remove: some of them try to write their own driver, register themself as legitimate dlls for different processes or simply place hooks in different processes (injecting their own code).

Most of the time viruses won't target personal data if their "installation" isn't complete.

// replied kinda late, but hope it helps

thanks . . but . . "Most of the time viruses won't target personal data if their "installation" isn't complete." What does the "installation" mean?

I assume by installation not being complete, Apex means the virus's installation.