ok, i have installed linux, ubuntu, everything works fine, but a few problems...my DSL wont work, i cant install any programs and it wont find my ethernet or even open up my external hard drive...

is there an extention program that i can use to run .exe installations? cause i need to install my DSL modem, my ethernet, my graphics card, and everything else in my motherboard that linux cant find...

also, how can i run programs that are originally from windows? any execution file or something?

thanks a lot for your help, im new to linux, still learning...

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi,
I am new to Linux too. Thete's a software called WIn4LIN that you can use to install windows .exe softwares on linux but it is not free.
For your modem I think scanModem will work (just google for it and afer you run it, it can detect what modem u have) although it is a bit boring having to switch from xp to ubuntu everytime you need internet.

I dont know about the network card cuz it recognized mine automatically but just look google for the name of the card + linux drive.

I hope this helps

to set up your DSL call your ISP techsupport.

to use the modem, enable the restricted driver repo, most winmodems are in there

graphics card - what card are you using?

windows soft: don't rely on it. most things will not work. just use linux alternatives.

@Olsi009...i will try those programs, thanks, i hope it works...

and i have 2 computers in my house, one running xp and the other running ubuntu, so i get on the xp one to find info and the othe is right next to it, so i just move over a little...

@DimaYasny...ok, i will call...do they have special programs for ubuntu?

my modem is not there, the only driver thats there is my accelerated graphics driver...

im using Nvidia GeForce 8500GT

but that software is important to me, and its either there is something special to use for ubuntu, or i might have to just let linux go...

thanks guys, i hope i get it working...