Hey,

I'm looking to dual boot Windows Xp and Linux Ubuntu...

I'm totally new to Linux and i want to test it out....

Could someone please link me to a how-to site or explain how to install one then the other...

Thanks a lot!

Recommended Answers

All 55 Replies

If I don't have windows installed yet...

Is there another way to install both?

The videos on the site start with Windows already installed...

windows likes to be installed first. its picky

install windows first. EIther tell it to only use half the drive, or shrink the partition using the ubuntu livecd, and use the newly created space.

if you install Linux first will will delete the drive or corrupt your linux installation UNLESS you have a separate partition to install windows. so follow Jbennet advise Windows first, then linux Ubuntu. This is a very nice operating system. I love it.

Ok.....

So if your trying to learn about Ubuntu..

Whats the best way to start..

>Whats the best way to start..

The best way to learn something quickly is to get out of your comfort zone. If you've set up Ubuntu and you're happily surfing the internet with a web browser, then you aren't learning much. If you really want to learn Ubuntu (or Linux for that matter), set goals for yourself. Perhaps for the first week you want to get familiar with some of the common Gnome applications. Then maybe the next week you want to learn how to use services in Linux. Experiment, tinker around, don't be afraid.

Linux also offer instruction on how to navigate and use command line. Here check out this page

Ok.....

So if your trying to learn about Ubuntu..

Whats the best way to start..

learn how to use the command line (control + alt + f2 to switch to it) (control + alt + f7 to go back to GUI) and learn common commands like "rm" "ls" "cp" "usermod" . Also try and learn how to compile stuff from src code and how to use a text editor from a command line e.g nano. IF your GUI dies, this will come in handy.