VMWare Red Hat 9
Note: I'm new to Linux. I just want to get it running initially so I can learn from it.

First:
I had to statically assign the DNS addresses. How do I get Red Hat 9 to detect the DNS settings for the system?

Second:
I decompressed the VMware tools to my desktop and attempted to install them by double clicking the vmware-install.pl. It seems to pop-up a window really quick and I can't read anything from it. I have read that there is suppose to be a wizard that I can just accept the defaults to.

Do I need to run this through the terminal window? If I do, how do I navigate through the terminal window back to the desktop of the root user? I couldn't seem to find it.

Also, please remember I'm very new to Linux having spent all my time in the Windows world. If there is something you suggest I do in Linux, I need you to clearly spell it out for me. I have no idea where features are located and when I start the machine it starts up in XWindows.

The entire time I am running as the root user. I understand that this is the all powerful account, but I don't want to be tripped up with permission issues until I know the system is running reasonably well.

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies