I need a little advice now, and probably a lot more in the future!:rolleyes: I am new to Linux, and use Windows XP right now, although my current opinion is that MS-DOS is the best OS ever invented.:mrgreen: I also know next to nothing about programming, although I would like to learn some. Anyway, I have an old ALR server which I intend to play with in the future. It will be running 4 200MHz/512k Pentium Pro CPUs, approximately 21 GB of SCSI HDD space (two 4.5 GB, one 2.1 GB, and one 10 GB), and as much RAM as I can come up with to cram into it. I intend to use it as a web server (just something to play with), maybe a personal e-mail server, and an internet gateway, preferably firewalled, for everything on my home network. As I already stated, this is all just for me to play with, nothing that will be professionaly used. I am on a pretty tight budget (I'm married!:-| ), so money is definately an issue. Finally, I am not afraid to "get my hands dirty", or learn new things. With all that said, what would be the best version for me? I already have three different releases of Mandrake (7.0, 8.0, and 8.2, if I remember correctly), but I have never really done anything with them. So what do ya'll think? Probably that I need professional (psychiatric) help, but that's for another thread.:lol: Thanks in advance for any advice!

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

I assume you are running XP on a different box. To start getting familliar with linux I suggest you try out some live CD's on your main box. It won't install anything to your hard drive unless you tell it to, and you will have a chance to compare some different distro's and learn how to move around and do some basic tasks.

Then try those same cd's in the server, see which ones recognize the hardware and initialize properly. Many of the live cd's have an install feature, so when you find one you want to try you can install it easilly.