Hi Friends,

I have heard that it isn't that simple to write a program in linux using c.
Lots of commands n stuff.Please simplify what actually I've got to do to run turbo c++ in my linux laptop as I am a beginner.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi Friends,

I have heard that it isn't that simple to write a program in linux using c.
Lots of commands n stuff.Please simplify what actually I've got to do to run turbo c++ in my linux laptop as I am a beginner.

Its just as easy as any other version of C...If you mean compiling a program in Linux using GCC then that's simple..From the terminal type

gcc filename.c -o filename

and then to run

./filename

I don't think Turbo C++ is ported to Linux so you can't used it in a Linux environment..

I would recommend doing it manually. It's not that bad. I'll give you some basic pointers to get you going. There are actually only 3-ish steps, but I'll explain them in detail so you can learn it and not just copy-paste some gibberish.

First you need to open a terminal. Go to your "working folder" in your terminal. This is the folder where you are, well, working. This folder should have your .c file (programming in c) or .cpp file (programming in c++)

============================
1. NAVIGATING THE TERMINAL

ls: shows you the contents of your folder
cd foldername: moves where you are into another folder
cd ..: goes up a level in the folders

Note that the command "dir" is Window's version of "ls".
Also keep in mind that folder names is case-sensitive, so typing "cd Documents" isn't the same as "cd documents".

========================
2. COMPILING YOUR PROGRAM

You need to compile your program so you can run it. You can do this from any folder.
--------------------------------------…
2 (part 1) GETTING A COMPILER

type:
sudo apt-get install g++

why?
sudo: tells the computer that you have administrative privileges
apt-get: means get application
install: install
g++: the name of a widely-used, very popular compiler