I'M new to Linux & Ubuntu. I know I could just install Open Office through the Ubuntu Software Center or the Package Manager but I wanted to do it manually. So I download the debian package from www.openoffice.org and unzipped it. Now I have a folder on my desktop lapeled "OOO310_m19_native_packed-1_en-US.9420" Inside that folder there are 48 .deb files and a sub folder named "desktop-integration" and within that folder is one file name "openoffice.org3.1-debian-menus_3.1-9420_all.deb". But none of the .deb files I try to run will work. I'M getting errors.

Error: Conflicts with the installed package 'openoffice.org-core'
Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: ooobasis3.1-core01

Now I did uninstalle the version of Open Office prior to trying this. Thanks for any and all replies.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Member Avatar for manutm

The package manager of your distro is there to handle and resolve dependencies. Now, if you want to use debian packages, install first a debian package manager (something like gdebi on ubuntu) because just unpacking won't work. Or, from the command line, you can use dpkg -i (check out the man pages -> man dpkg.)

The package manager of your distro is there to handle and resolve dependencies. Now, if you want to use debian packages, install first a debian package manager (something like gdebi on ubuntu) because just unpacking won't work. Or, from the command line, you can use dpkg -i (check out the man pages -> man dpkg.)

I was using gdepi when I got that error message.